Shareholders' Rights Directive

- Strengthening shareholder participation rights and increasing transparency between companies and investors

What is the goal of the Shareholders Rights Directive?

The Shareholder Rights Directive pursues the overall objective of strengthening and expanding the shareholder's direct participation rights. The prerequisite for the efficient participation of the shareholder is an automated, as far as possible electronic communication between issuers (e.g. invitation to the AGM, communication of corporate actions, etc.) and the shareholder (participation in the AGM, communication of decisions of corporate actions). 

The obligation of a resolution in the AGM on the remuneration policy of the Management Board and Supervisory Board to be published, the annual compensation report as well as the significant Related Party Transactions (RPTs) will increase shareholders' participation rights.

If the shareholder participates only indirectly via an institutional investor (insurance or pension scheme) or an investment management company, they will in future be required to publish information on their investment strategies and their participation policy. If these companies or shareholders transfer their voting rights to a voting manager, they are obliged to submit to a code of conduct based on the principle of "comply or explain" and to grant greater transparency in methodology and working methods.

Download SRD II PDF
German

Download SRD II PDF
English

Background

  • Different regulations at EU level
  • Issuers do not know their shareholders
  • Insufficient communication between issuers and shareholders
  • Low exposure of institutional investors
  • Strong influence of proxy advisors with simultaneous lack of transparency
      Affected parties

      • EU listed companies
      • Shareholders
      • Intermediaries
      • Institutional investors and asset managers
      • Voting advisor

          Strategic challenges for depositaries

          With the requirement of the most automated, electronic straight through processing (STP) possible, the expansion of the circle of relevant actors on the one hand and the amount of required data on the other hand require new processes and thus new responsibilities.

          Closely linked with this is the analysis of whether this is possible with the existing system landscape or whether technologically new communication channels (internal and external) must be created. Of critical importance is the time factor or the processing speed of the information regarding the adherence to very tight information periods in the communication with the shareholder. For this reason, digitization of communication with the issuer, the shareholders, the institutional investors, the capital collection agencies and the voting authorities is required in parallel.

          Finally, the extension of implementation at EU level requires an analysis of the extent to which the impact on the communication channels in intra-European countries is affected. It is to be expected that, analogous to the Implementing Regulation (EU) 2018/1212, the essential aspects will be gradually concretised in the coming years and provided with timelines for implementation.

          Important content and timelines of the EU Implementing Regulation 2018/1212 on the Shareholders Rights Directive for intermediaries

          Identification of shareholders

          • In order to enable direct communication between the issuer and the shareholder, it is necessary that the issuers know their shareholders.
          • Therefore, all companies located in the EU will have the right to request information about their shareholders from intermediaries.

          Transmission of information

          • Intermediaries are obliged to comply with the issuer's identification requests in a timely and standardized manner or to forward them to subsequent intermediaries in a timely manner.
          • Intermediaries must ensure that all further information from companies is forwarded in good time to the shareholder.
          Z

          Exercise of shareholder rights

          • Intermediaries must take precautions so that shareholders themselves can exercise their rights or a designated third party.
          • At the request of the shareholder, a response must be given to the shareholder that his vote has been effectively recorded and counted by the company.
          As a first step, the implementing regulation specifies minimum requirements regarding uniform formats about the identification of the shareholders, the transmission of information to the shareholders and the facilitation of the exercise of shareholder rights. Communication between the respective issuers, custodians and other relevant stakeholders should, as far as possible, be in electronic and machine-readable form in order to facilitate intra-European interoperability and fully automated resolution. The ordinance must be transposed into national law by 10 June 2019 at the latest and will become legally binding throughout the EU as from 3 September 2020.

          Operational challenges of the implementing regulation

          In the Annex to the Implementing Regulation, down to the field level, the content and formal requirements for information that are at least necessary for the communication between the issuer and the shareholder (e.g. AGM process) are defined concretely. The challenge within the bank will be to aggregate the required data from the different internal systems, to identify possible missing information and then to obtain it from external sources. Legislators deliberately leave market participants with the definition of their own standards and deadlines for data transmission. It merely requires that they are based on an ISO standard or similar industry standards. Since these must be coordinated across the EU, the complexity and thus the effort to create a uniform standard increases. This complicates holistic strategic planning. In addition, for the key players (issuer and shareholder) who do not have an appropriate infrastructure, electronic communication platforms must be established and linked to enable a consistent bilateral STP from the issuer to the shareholder along the securities custody chain.

          Why NEXGEN Business Consultants?

          Analysis and inventory

          Based on years of experience in the implementation of regulatory requirements and the associated expertise, we have developed an analysis methodology that enables us to efficiently identify new requirements and implement them immediately. In addition, we are also able to perform optimizations of existing setups.

          In addition, we have extensive expertise in European reporting requirements and in in-depth settlement and product experience.

            Project steering and controlling  

            We place our clients at the centre of our activity through our efficient, fast and solution-oriented action. Here we pay particular attention to professionalism and consistency during the realization. Successfully carried out projects, high expertise and targeted training of our consultants are our basis to successfully complete projects in a structured and transparent manner.

              High quality and sustainability  

              We operate in a highly professional market environment in which we convince our clients through sustainable competence, continuous willingness to change and high service quality. Our quality standards ensure the highest level of service quality. We not only want to satisfy our clients, but to inspire them in the long term.

                Sladjan Seferovic

                Managing Partner

                Tel.: +49 179 948 876 57
                E-Mail: sladjan.seferovic@nexgenbc.com

                Markus Trosse

                Senior Manager

                Tel.: +49 151 576 423 78
                E-Mail: markus.trosse@nexgenbc.com

                v

                We are at your disposal for a conversation. Contact us!

                Download SRD II PDF
                German

                Download SRD II PDF
                English

                Disclaimer   

                The greatest care has been taken in the preparation of the content, but changes, errors and omissions are reserved. The statements made are based on judgments, historical data and legal assessments at the time of preparation of the content. All information is given without guarantee for the correctness and completeness of the content. The transfer of the content is only for the internal use of the recipient. The treatment does not constitute any legal or investment advice. This must be done individually taking into account the circumstances of the individual case.

Aktionärsrechterichtlinie

– Stärkung der Mitwirkungsrechte des Aktionärs und Erhöhung der Transparenz zwischen Gesellschaften und Anlegern

Welches Ziel verfolgt die Aktionärsrechterichtlinie?

Die Aktionärsrechterichtlinie verfolgt das übergeordnete Ziel der Stärkung und Erweiterung der direkten Mitwirkungsrechte des Aktionärs. Voraussetzung für eine effiziente Beteiligung des Aktionärs ist eine automatisierte, möglichst elektronische Kommunikation zwischen Emittenten (z.B. Einladung zur HV, Mitteilung von Kapitalmaßnahmen, etc.) und dem Aktionär (Mitwirkung an der HV, Mitteilung von Entscheidungen von Kapitalmaßnahmen) zu ermöglichen. 

Mit der Verpflichtung einer Beschlussfassung in der HV über die zu veröffentlichende Vergütungspolitik von Vorstand und Aufsichtsrat, den jährlichen Vergütungsbericht sowie über die wesentliche Related Party Transactions (RPTs) werden die Mitwirkungsrechte der Aktionäre erweitert.

Beteiligt sich der Aktionär über einen institutionellen Anleger (Versicherung oder Einrichtung der Altersvorsorge) oder eine Kapitalverwaltungsgesellschaft nur mittelbar, so sind diese zukünftig verpflichtet, Informationen zu ihren Anlagestrategien sowie ihrer Mitwirkungspolitik zu veröffentlichen. Übertragen diese Gesellschaften oder Aktionäre ihre Stimmrechte an einen Stimmrechtsverwalter, so wird dieser verpflichtet, sich einem am Prinzip „comply or explain“ orientierten Verhaltenskodex zu unterwerfen und erweiterte Transparenz in Methodik und Arbeitsweise zu gewähren.

Download SRD II PDF
Deutsch

Download SRD II PDF
Englisch

Hintergrund

  • Unterschiedliche Regelungen auf EU Ebene
  • Emittenten kennen Ihre Aktionäre nicht
  • Unzureichende Kommunikation zwischen Emittenten und Aktionären
  • Geringes Engagement von institutionellen Anlegern
  • Starker Einfluss von Stimmrechtsberatern bei gleichzeitiger Intransparenz
      Betroffene

      • EU-gelistete Unternehmen
      • Aktionäre
      • Intermediäre
      • Institutionelle Anleger und Vermögensverwalter
      • Stimmrechtsberater

          Strategische Herausforderungen für Verwahrstellen

          Mit der Anforderung eines möglichst automatisierten, elektronischen Straight Through Processing (STP) werden mit der Erweiterung des Kreises der relevanten Akteure einerseits und des Umfangs an erforderlichen Daten andererseits, neue Prozesse und damit neue Verantwortlichkeiten erforderlich.

          Eng verknüpft ist damit die Analyse, ob dies mit der bestehenden Systemlandschaft möglich ist, oder ob technologisch neue Kommunikationswege (intern und extern) geschaffen werden müssen. Von kritischer Bedeutung ist der Faktor Zeit bzw. die Verarbeitungsgeschwindigkeit der Informationen hinsichtlich der Einhaltung sehr enger Informationsfristen in der Kommunikation mit dem Aktionär. Deshalb ist parallel dazu eine Digitalisierung der Kommunikation mit dem Emittenten, den Aktionären, den institutionellen Anlegern, den Kapitalsammelstellen und den Stimmrechtsverwaltern erforderlich.

          Und nicht zuletzt macht die Erweiterung der Umsetzung auf EU-Ebene eine Analyse notwendig, in wieweit sich Auswirkungen auf die Kommunikationswege im innereuropäischen Ausland ergeben. Es ist zu erwarten, dass analog zu der behandelten Durchführungsverordnung (EU) 2018/1212 die wesentlichen Aspekte in den kommenden Jahren nach und nach per Verordnung konkretisiert und mit Timelines zur Umsetzung versehen werden.

          Für Intermediäre wichtige Inhalte und Timelines der EU-Durchführungsverordnung 2018/1212 zur Aktionärsrechterichtlinie

          Identifikation der Aktionäre

          • Um eine direkte Kommunikation zwischen Emittent und Aktionär zu ermöglichen, ist es notwendig, dass die Emittenten ihre Aktionäre kennen.
          • Daher werden alle in der EU ansässigen Unternehmen das Recht erhalten, Informationen über ihr Aktionäre bei Intermediären anzufordern.

          Übermittlung von Informationen

          • Intermediäre sind verpflichtet, rechtzeitig und in standardisierter Form den Identifikationsanfragen der Emittenten nachzukommen bzw. diese rechtzeitig an Folge-Intermediäre weiterzuleiten.
          • Intermediäre müssen sicherstellen, dass alle weiteren Informationen von Gesellschaften rechtzeitig dem Aktionär weitergeleitet werden.
          Z

          Ausübung von Aktionärsrechten

          • Intermediäre müssen Vorkehrungen treffen, damit Aktionäre selbst ihre Rechte ausüben können oder ein benannter Dritter.
          • Auf Anforderung des Aktionärs muss eine Rückmeldung an den Aktionär erfolgen, dass seine Stimme von der Gesellschaft wirksam aufgezeichnet und gezählt wurde.
          Mit der Durchführungsverordnung werden in einem ersten Schritt Mindestanforderungen hinsichtlich einheitlicher Formate in Bezug auf die Identifizierung der Aktionäre, die Informationsübermittlung an die Aktionäre und die Erleichterung der Ausübung der Aktionärsrechte konkretisiert. Die Kommunikation zwischen den jeweiligen Emittenten, verwahrenden Unternehmen und den anderen betroffenen Akteuren sollte soweit wie möglich in elektronischer und maschinenlesbarer Form erfolgen, um eine innereuropäische Interoperabilität und eine vollautomatisierte Abwicklung zu ermöglichen. Die Verordnung ist bis spätestens 10. Juni 2019 in das jeweilige nationales Recht zu überführen und wird ab dem 03. September 2020 EU-weit rechtsverbindlich.

          Operative Herausforderungen der Durchführungsverordnung

          Im Anhang der Durchführungsverordnung werden bis auf Feldebene die inhaltlichen und formalen Anforderungen an Informationen, die für die Kommunikation zwischen Emittenten und Aktionär (z.B. HV-Prozess) mindestens erforderlich sind, konkret definiert. Herausforderung innerhalb der Bank wird dabei sein, die erforderlichen Daten aus den unterschiedlichen internen Systemen zu aggregieren, mögliche fehlende Informationen zu identifizieren und diese im Anschluss aus externen Quellen zu beziehen. Der Gesetzgeber überlässt den Marktteilnehmern ganz bewusst die Definition eigener Standards und Fristen für die Datenübermittlung. Er verlangt lediglich, dass diese sich an einer ISO-Norm oder ähnlichen Industrienormen orientieren. Da diese EU-weit abgestimmt werden müssen, erhöht sich die Komplexität und somit der Aufwand, einen einheitlichen Standard zu schaffen. Dies erschwert eine ganzheitliche strategische Planung. Darüber hinaus müssen für die zentralen Akteure (Emittent und Aktionär), die nicht über eine entsprechende Infrastruktur verfügen, elektronische Kommunikationsplattformen geschaffen und angebunden werden, um einen durchgängigen bilateralen STP vom Emittenten zum Aktionär entlang der Wertpapierverwahrkette zu ermöglichen.

          Warum NEXGEN Business Consultants?

          Analyse und Bestandaufnahme

          Aufgrund jahrelanger Erfahrung bei der Umsetzung regulatorischer Anforderungen und der damit verbundenen Expertise haben wir eine Analysemethodik entwickelt, die es uns ermöglicht, effizient neue Anforderungen zu identifizieren und diese umgehend umzusetzen. Darüber hinaus sind wir in der Lage auch Optimierungen bestehender Setups durchzuführen.

          Darüber hinaus verfügen wir über umfassende Kompetenz zu europäischen Reporting-Anforderungen und vertiefte Settlement- und Produkterfahrungen.

            Projektsteuerung und Controlling  

            Wir stellen unsere Mandanten durch unser effizientes, schnelles und lösungsorientiertes Handeln in den Mittelpunkt unserer Tätigkeit. Hierbei achten wir besonders auf Professionalität und Beständigkeit während der Realisierung. Erfolgreich durchgeführte Projekte, hohe Expertise und gezielte Weiterbildung unserer Berater sind unsere Grundlage, Projekte strukturiert und transparent zu steuern und erfolgreich abzuschließen.

              Hohe Qualität und Nachhaltigkeit  

              Wir agieren in einem hochgradig professionellen Marktumfeld, in dem wir durch nachhaltige Kompetenz, kontinuierliche Veränderungsbereitschaft und hoher Servicequalität unsere Mandanten überzeugen. Unsere Qualitätsstandards sichern ein Höchstmaß an Dienstleistungsqualität. Wir möchten unsere Mandanten nicht nur zufrieden stellen, sondern nachhaltig begeistern.

                Sladjan Seferovic

                Managing Partner

                Tel.: +49 179 948 876 57
                E-Mail: sladjan.seferovic@nexgenbc.com

                Markus Trosse

                Senior Manager

                Tel.: +49 151 576 423 78
                E-Mail: markus.trosse@nexgenbc.com

                v

                Wir stehen Ihnen für ein Gespräch zur Verfügung. Kontaktieren Sie uns!

                Download SRD II PDF
                Deutsch

                Download SRD II PDF
                Englisch

                Disclaimer   

                Bei der Erstellung des Inhalts ist die größtmögliche Sorgfalt verwendet worden, dennoch bleiben Änderungen, Irrtümer und Auslassungen vorbehalten. Die getroffenen Aussagen basieren auf Beurteilungen, historischen Daten und rechtlichen Einschätzungen zum Zeitpunkt der Erstellung des Inhalts. Alle Angaben erfolgen ohne Gewähr für die inhaltliche Richtigkeit und Vollständigkeit. Die Überlassung des Inhalts erfolgt nur für den internen Gebrauch des Empfängers. Die Aufbereitung stellt keine Rechts- oder Anlageberatung dar. Diese muss individuell unter Berücksichtigung der Umstände des Einzelfalls erfolgen.