IBOR – Replacement by new reference interest rates

Replacement of IBORs with alternative reference values (RFRs)

Aim of the conversion and which requirements are there?

IBOR describes the common "interbank interest rate" and plays a central role in the international financial markets. It refers to the weighted asking interest rate at which banks grant each other short-term loans and is determined by a bank panel. Since it serves in its various forms as the basis for a variety of financial products, it is relevant for almost all financial market players and their business areas.

Trader-led manipulation of the LIBOR revealed the vulnerability of a private-sector investigation of the IBORs in the recent past. The sharp decline in transaction volumes associated with the loss of confidence led to the recommendation of the Financial Stability Board to replace this practice in the various currency areas with a transaction-based, and thus less manipulable, reference rate method. Deployed working groups have defined methods for the respective currency area for the tamper-proof determination of risk-free rates.

Download IBOR PDF
German

Download IBOR PDF
English

In addition to the methods, the working groups have already set the timelines for the replacement of the existing IBORs. This increases the pressure to act, especially for those financial market players for whom multi-currency RFRs are relevant. Against this background, affected contracts must be analysed and products and processes need to be adapted.

Subsequently, the expected challenges will be outlined using the example of the new hybrid EURIBOR. For the euro area, benchmarks from 2020 onwards must be determined precisely and with integrity, in line with the 2016 Benchmark Regulation (2016/2011). According to the current understanding, in addition to a transaction-based determination based on market data, a comprehensible estimate also fulfils this requirement. The EMMI, as the responsible working group, has defined the parameters for the determination of the hybrid EURIBOR in three levels. In addition to using transaction data from the Money Market Statistical Reporting MMSR (Level 1), the EMMI will allow transaction data from near-money market transactions between financial institutions, e.g. Floating Rate Notes from other data sources (Level 2). Also permissible in the case of non-representative reproducibility, Level 3 also estimates the refinancing costs of the panel banks involved. However, the test phase has produced a disproportionate share of estimates (between 57% - 83%)1 which makes a FSMA approval questionable as benchmark-compliant. Alternatively, the use of the ESTER as a basis for EURIBOR-equivalent forward interest rates is considered as a fall-back scenario.

1Results of the EMMI testphase, showed in Regulierungsnewsletter Börsenzeitung 30.10.

In June 2018, the ECB published the methodology for the EONIA successor, ESTER. The ESTER will be introduced according to the current status in October 2019, but with a two-year transitional period until the end of 2021. This will then be determined daily aligned to TARGET2 based on the in the reporting on money market statistics transmitted transaction volumes of the 52 largest banks. Currently a test phase is running.

Challenges for European Financial Institutions

The process chains of the various products, which are based on the different RFRs, are affected front-to-back by the introduction. The short implementation periods for the individual currencies during the years 2019 to 2022 boost already existing pressure.
Strategic and operational challenges

The introduction of the new RFRs requires consideration of multiple aspects and areas within financial services providers and their market environment. By way of example, the following points may be mentioned:

  • Milestone planning of the implementation of requirements considering the different timelines of the respective working groups
  • Review and reorientation of internal hedging and (re-)financing strategies
  • Adjustment of internal pricing models for the valuation of products and positions
  • Analysis of the impact of the replacement of the existing IBORs considering different market conditions (currencies, indices, legal frameworks, customer segments) and decision making on the strategic approach
  • Examine and adjust the legal framework of client and counterparty relationships to minimize potential legal risks
  • Identification and analysis of the product landscape on the assets, liabilities and refinancing side of the financial institutions regarding any necessary adjustments
  • Identification and adaptation of affected processes, IT systems and data interfaces
  • Analysis and decision on how to deal with the transitional parallel validity of IBOR and RFR-based reference interest rates (fallback scenarios)

Why NEXGEN Business Consultants?

Analysis and inventory  

Based on years of experience in the implementation of regulatory requirements and the associated expertise, we have developed an analysis methodology that enables us to efficiently identify new requirements and implement them immediately. In addition, we are also able to perform optimizations of existing setups.

In addition, we have extensive expertise in European reporting requirements and in in-depth settlement and product experience.

    Project steering and controlling  

    We place our clients at the centre of our activity through our efficient, fast and solution-oriented action. Here we pay particular attention to professionalism and consistency during the realization. Successfully carried out projects, high expertise and targeted training of our consultants are our basis to successfully complete projects in a structured and transparent manner.

      High quality and sustainability 

      We operate in a highly professional market environment in which we convince our clients through sustainable competence, continuous willingness to change and high service quality. Our quality standards ensure the highest level of service quality. We not only want to satisfy our clients, but to inspire them in the long term.

        Guido Becker

        Managing Partner

        Tel.: +49 151 223 333 75
        E-Mail: guido.becker@nexgenbc.com

        Ann-Katrin Seidel

        Senior Consultant

        Tel.: +49 160 939 610 87
        E-Mail: ann-katrin.seidel@nexgenbc.com

        v

        We are at your disposal for a conversation. Contact us!

        Download IBOR PDF
        German

        Download IBOR PDF
        English

        Disclaimer   

        The greatest care has been taken in the preparation of the content, but changes, errors and omissions are reserved. The statements made are based on judgments, historical data and legal assessments at the time of preparation of the content. All information is given without guarantee for the correctness and completeness of the content. The transfer of the content is only for the internal use of the recipient. The treatment does not constitute any legal or investment advice. This must be done individually taking into account the circumstances of the individual case.

IBOR – Ablösung durch neue Referenzzinssätze

Ablösung der IBORs durch alternative Referenzwerte (engl. RFRs)

Ziel der Umstellung und welche Anforderungen gibt es?

IBOR beschreibt den gebräuchlichen „Interbanken Zinssatz“ und spielt auf den internationalen Finanzmärkten eine zentrale Rolle. Er bezeichnet den gewichteten Angebots-Zinssatz, zu denen sich Banken untereinander kurzfristige Kredite gewähren und wird von einem Banken-Panel ermittelt. Da er in seinen unterschiedlichen Ausprägungen als Basis für eine Vielzahl von Finanzprodukten dient, ist er für nahezu alle Finanzmarktakteure und ihre Geschäftsbereiche relevant.

Die in der jüngeren Vergangenheit aufgedeckten durch Händler vorgenommenen Manipulationen des LIBORs haben die Anfälligkeit einer privatwirtschaftlichen Ermittlung der IBORs aufgezeigt. Der mit dem Vertrauensverlust einhergehende starke Rückgang der Transaktionsvolumina führte zu der Empfehlung des Financial Stability Board, diese Praxis in den verschiedenen Währungsräumen durch eine möglichst transaktionsbasierte und somit weniger manipulierbare Referenzzins-Methode zu ersetzen. Eingesetzte Arbeitsgruppen haben für den jeweiligen Währungsraum Methoden zur manipulationssicheren Ermittlung der Risk Free Rates definiert.

Download IBOR PDF
Deutsch

Download IBOR PDF
Englisch

Neben den Methoden haben die Arbeitsgruppen bereits die Timelines für die Ablösung der alten IBORs festgelegt. Dies erhöht den Handlungsdruck besonders für alle diejenigen Finanzmarktakteure, für die RFRs in mehreren Währungen relevant sind. Vor diesem Hintergrund müssen diese in betroffenen Verträgen, Produkten und Prozessen analysiert und angepasst werden.

In der Folge sollen die zu erwartenden Herausforderungen am Beispiel des neuen Hybrid-EURIBORs skizziert werden. Für den Euroraum müssen Referenzwerte ab 2020 entsprechend der 2016 verabschiedeten Benchmark Verordnung (2016/2011) genau und integer ermittelt werden. Nach aktuellem Verständnis erfüllt neben einer transaktionsbasierten Ermittlung anhand von Marktdaten auch eine nachvollziehbare Schätzung diese Forderung. Die EMMI, als verantwortliche Arbeitsgruppe, hat die Parameter für die Ermittlung des Hybrid-EURIBORs in drei Leveln festgelegt. Neben der Verwendung von Transaktionsdaten aus dem Money Market Statistical Reporting MMSR (Level 1) lässt die EMMI Transaktionsdaten aus geldmarktnahen Geschäften zwischen Finanzinstitutionen, z.B. Floating Rate Notes, aus anderen Datenquellen zu (Level 2). Ebenfalls zulässig für den Fall einer nicht repräsentativen Abbildbarkeit ist in Level 3 auch eine Schätzung der Refinanzierungskosten der beteiligten Panelbanken. Allerdings hat die Testphase einen weit überproportionalen Anteil von Schätzungen (zwischen 57% – 83%)1 ergeben, was eine Genehmigung durch die FSMA als benchmark-konform fraglich erscheinen lässt. Alternativ wird als Fall-Back-Szenario die Verwendung des ESTER als Grundlage für EURIBOR-äquivalente Forward Zinsen erwogen.

1Ergebnisse der EMMI Testphase, Regulierungsnewsletter Börsenzeitung 30.10.2018

Im Juni 2018 hat die EZB die Methodik für den EONIA-Nachfolger, den ESTER, veröffentlicht. Der ESTER soll nach aktuellem Stand im Oktober 2019 eingeführt werden, jedoch mit einer zwei-jährigen Übergangsfrist bis Ende 2021. Dieser wird dann TARGET2-tägig auf Basis, der im Rahmen der Meldung zur Geldmarktstatistik übermittelten Transaktionsvolumina der 52 größten Banken, ermittelt. Aktuell läuft eine Testphase.

Herausforderungen für europäische Finanzinstitutionen

Die Prozessketten der unterschiedlichsten Produkte, die auf den verschiedenen RFRs basieren, sind Front-to-back von der Einführung betroffen. Erschwerend wirken hierbei die kurzen Umsetzungszeiträume für die einzelnen Währungen in den Jahren 2019 bis 2022.
Strategische und operative Herausforderungen

Die Einführung der neuen RFRs verlangt die Betrachtung multipler Aspekte und Bereiche innerhalb von Finanzdienstleistern und ihrem Marktumfeld. Beispielhaft seien folgende Punkte genannt:

  • Meilensteinplanung der Umsetzung von Anforderungen unter Berücksichtigung der unterschiedlichen Timelines der jeweiligen Arbeitsgruppen
  • Überprüfung und Neuausrichtung interner Absicherungs- und (Re-)Finanzierungsstrategien
  • Anpassung der internen Pricing Models zur Bewertung von Produkten und Positionen
  • Analyse der Auswirkungen der Ablösung der alten IBORs unter Berücksichtigung unterschiedlicher Marktbedingungen (Währungen, Indizes, Rechtsrahmen, Kundensegmente) und Entscheidung über das strategische Vorgehen
  • Untersuchung und Anpassung der rechtlichen Rahmenbedingungen von Kunden- und Kontrahentenbeziehungen, um mögliche rechtliche Risiken zu minimieren
  • Identifikation und Analyse der Produktlandschaft auf der Aktiv-, Passiv- sowie Refinanzierungsseite der Finanzinstitute im Hinblick auf notwenige Anpassungen
  • Identifikation und Anpassung betroffener Prozesse, IT-Systeme und Datenschnittstellen
  • Analyse und Entscheidung, wie mit der übergangsweisen parallelen Gültigkeit von IBOR- und RFR-basierten Referenzzinssätzen umzugehen ist (Fallback-Szenarien)

Warum NEXGEN Business Consultants?

Analyse und Bestandaufnahme  

Aufgrund jahrelanger Erfahrung bei der Umsetzung regulatorischer Anforderungen und der damit verbundenen Expertise haben wir eine Analysemethodik entwickelt, die es uns ermöglicht, effizient neue Anforderungen zu identifizieren und diese umgehend umzusetzen. Darüber hinaus sind wir in der Lage auch Optimierungen bestehender Setups durchzuführen.

Darüber hinaus verfügen wir über umfassende Kompetenz zu europäischen Reporting-Anforderungen und vertiefte Settlement- und Produkterfahrungen.

    Projektsteuerung und Controlling  

    Wir stellen unsere Mandanten durch unser effizientes, schnelles und lösungsorientiertes Handeln in den Mittelpunkt unserer Tätigkeit. Hierbei achten wir besonders auf Professionalität und Beständigkeit während der Realisierung. Erfolgreich durchgeführte Projekte, hohe Expertise und gezielte Weiterbildung unserer Berater sind unsere Grundlage, Projekte strukturiert und transparent zu steuern und erfolgreich abzuschließen.

      Hohe Qualität und Nachhaltigkeit 

      Wir agieren in einem hochgradig professionellen Marktumfeld, in dem wir durch nachhaltige Kompetenz, kontinuierliche Veränderungsbereitschaft und hoher Servicequalität unsere Mandanten überzeugen. Unsere Qualitätsstandards sichern ein Höchstmaß an Dienstleistungsqualität. Wir möchten unsere Mandanten nicht nur zufrieden stellen, sondern nachhaltig begeistern.

        Guido Becker

        Managing Partner

        Tel.: +49 151 223 333 75
        E-Mail: guido.becker@nexgenbc.com

        Ann-Katrin Seidel

        Senior Consultant

        Tel.: +49 160 939 610 87
        E-Mail: ann-katrin.seidel@nexgenbc.com

        v

        Wir stehen Ihnen für ein Gespräch zur Verfügung. Kontaktieren Sie uns!

        Download IBOR PDF
        Deutsch

        Download IBOR PDF
        Englisch

        Disclaimer   

        Bei der Erstellung des Inhalts ist die größtmögliche Sorgfalt verwendet worden, dennoch bleiben Änderungen, Irrtümer und Auslassungen vorbehalten. Die getroffenen Aussagen basieren auf Beurteilungen, historischen Daten und rechtlichen Einschätzungen zum Zeitpunkt der Erstellung des Inhalts. Alle Angaben erfolgen ohne Gewähr für die inhaltliche Richtigkeit und Vollständigkeit. Die Überlassung des Inhalts erfolgt nur für den internen Gebrauch des Empfängers. Die Aufbereitung stellt keine Rechts- oder Anlageberatung dar. Diese muss individuell unter Berücksichtigung der Umstände des Einzelfalls erfolgen.